The town of Ypres


Ieper - PanoramaIeper (Ypres) is a town in the southwestern part of the Belgian province of West Flanders (the so called ‘Westhoek’). The town counts some 35.000 inhabitants and is the sixth-biggest town of West Flanders. Ypres is also the chief town of the district of the same name and the biggest town of the Westhoek. Furthermore Ypres has the second-largest marketplace of Belgium. The nickname of Ypres is 'the Cats town' or, since the visit of pope John Paul II, 'City of Peace'.

Ieper - Lakenhalle - Gravure 1872Ypres is a city with a very rich and varied past. During the Middle Ages Ypres was a flourishing trading centre. In those days Ypres was one of the main Flemish cloth centres next to Bruges and Ghent. The impressive cloth hall bears witness to this golden age. Saint Martin’s cathedral and the splendid ramparts also date back to this period.

Ruïnes na Wereldoorlog I | 1919During the First World War the charming town was reduced to a heap of rubble. Ypres was almost entirely destroyed by four years of senseless violence. The citizens of Ypres rebuilt their city with respect for the past.

Ieper - Menenpoort - Last PostEvery evening at 8 pm precisely, the ‘Last Post’ has been sounded since 1928 under the imposing arches of the Menin Gate, in memory of the hundreds of thousands soldiers of the then British Empire and Allied Forces who fell in the Ypres Salient during the First World War. This Gate, shaped like a Roman triumphal arch, displays the names of 54.896 soldiers of the then British Empire missing in action.

Read more about the town of Ypres on the website Tourism Ypres and on Wikipedia.

Below you see some pictures of this town. When you click one of those pictures, you can browse through the enlarged popups. A slideshow is possible too (at the bottom right of open picture click on || changing to >; to stop press ESC or click somewhere outside the picture frame).


(pictures © Stad Ieper | Tijl Capoen | Carolien Coenen | Johan Bakker | Bart De Graeve | Geert Schneider)
Ieper - Grote Markt Ieper - Lakenhalle, Nieuwerck en Kathedraal Ieper - Lakenhalle Ieper - Lakenhalle  Ieper - Nieuwerck Ieper - Vleeshuis

Ieper - Kasselrijgebouw Ieper - Gerechtsgebouw Ieper - Nieuw gerechtsgebouw Ieper - Sint-Maartenskathedraal Ieper - Sint-Maartenskathedraal Ieper - Menenpoort Ieper - Menenpoort Ieper - Menenpoort

Ieper - Rijselpoort Ieper - Rijselpoort Lille Gate | Ramparts Ieper - Vauban vestingen Ieper - Vauban Vestingen Ieper - Vispoort (met beeltenis Neptunus - 1714) Ieper - Vismarkt (2 overdekte verkoopsstanden)

Ieper - Vismarkt | Tolhuisje ("Minckhuisje") - 1899 Ieper - Steen der Tempeliers Ieper - Houten Huis Ieper - Huis Biebuyck (1544) Ieper - Veemarkt | Huis der Bootslieden (1629) Ieper: Veemarkt | Huis der Kooplieden (1623) Kattenstoet | Koningin Kattenstoet | Minneke Poes Kattenstoet | Cieper Kattenstoet | Pietje Pek Kattenstoet | Stadsnar

La ville d'Ypres

Ieper - PanoramaYpres est une ville située dans la région du Westhoek, dans le Sud-ouest de la province Belge Flandre-Occidentale. La ville compte quelque 35.000 d'habitants ce qui en fait la cinquième ville de la Flandre-Occidentale. Ypres est le chef-lieu d'arrondissement du même nom et la ville la plus grande du Westhoek. Ypres possède la deuxième plus grande place du marché de la Belgique. Ypres est surnommée  "la Ville des Chats" ou encore, depuis la visite du pape Jean-Paul II, "Ville de Paix".

Ieper - Lakenhalle - Gravure 1872Ypres est une ville au passé extrêmement riche et varié. Au moyen âge, Ypres était une ville commerçante prospère. Avec Bruges et Gand, elle était alors l’une des villes flamandes réputées pour leur production drapière. L’impressionnante Halle aux draps témoigne de cette époque glorieuse. La cathédrale Saint-Martin et les superbes fortifications datent de la même période.

Ruïnes na Wereldoorlog I | 1919Pendant la Première Guerre Mondiale, cette ville charmante a été réduite à un champ de ruines. Ypres a été presque entièrement détruite par quatre années de violence insensée. Par respect pour le passé, les Yprois ont reconstruit leur ville.

Ieper - Menenpoort - Last PostDepuis 1928, chaque soir à 20 heures précises, le “Last Post” résonne sous les voûtes impressionnantes de la Porte de Menin. Ce mémorial en forme d’arc de triomphe romain porte les noms des 54.896 soldats disparus de ce qui était alors encore l’Empire britannique.

Lisez plus sur la ville d'Ypres sur le site web Ypres Touristique et sur Wikipedia.

Ci-après vous voyez quelques images de cette ville. Si vous cliquez sur une de ces images, vous pouvez alors feuilleter à travers les pop-ups de grand format de toutes les images. Si vous le désirez un diaporama peut être démarré (dans une image ouverte: cliquez en bas à droite sur || ce qui change en >; pour arrêter appuyez sur le boutton Échap ou cliquez quelque part à l'extérieur du cadre de l'image). 

(images © Stad Ieper - Tijl Capoen)
 Ieper - Grote Markt Ieper - Lakenhalle, Nieuwerck en Kathedraal Ieper - Lakenhalle Ieper - Lakenhalle  Ieper - Nieuwerck Ieper - Vleeshuis

Ieper - Kasselrijgebouw Ieper - Gerechtsgebouw Ieper - Nieuw gerechtsgebouw Ieper - Sint-Maartenskathedraal Ieper - Sint-Maartenskathedraal Ieper - Menenpoort Ieper - Menenpoort Ieper - Menenpoort

Ieper - Rijselpoort Ieper - Rijselpoort Ieper - Rijselpoort | Vestingen Ieper - Vauban vestingen Ieper - Vauban Vestingen Ieper - Vispoort (met beeltenis Neptunus - 1714) Ieper - Vismarkt (2 overdekte verkoopsstanden)

Ieper - Vismarkt | Tolhuisje ("Minckhuisje") - 1899 Ieper - Steen der Tempeliers Ieper - Houten Huis Ieper - Huis Biebuyck (1544) Ieper - Veemarkt | Huis der Bootslieden (1629) Ieper: Veemarkt | Huis der Kooplieden (1623) Cortège des Chats | Reine Kattenstoet | Minneke Poes Kattenstoet | Cieper Kattenstoet | Pietje Pek Kattenstoet | Stadsnar